Relaxed Hair Journey: Braids challenge regime (3c 4a)

My hair experimenting journey started 2004 experimenting with different product methods and styling when I went back home on a trip St Lucia in the Caribbean in 2004; but it’s this year I have finally figured out what suits my hair to help it flourish.  My hair is low porosity and recently 4-5 months post relaxer.

2015-07-14 00.32.05
I installed faux locs for 3 and a half weeks then  I took them out blow dried by hair had it in a low pony for two weeks while my hair was out I washed it weekly and always took my time detangling my hair

Living in Australia I haven’t had much information accessible to me about black hair and majority of the black hair hairdressers in  (Perth Australia) that I am based in don’t update their information I went through all the mistakes you can think about (lol but we won’t go into that today) I have figured out which products suit my hair type and the right way to style my hair to retain length to get to my goal length which is touching my bust or just past bust; “Protective styling” (moisturizing and sealing hair and tucking away the ends from manipulation) is one of the ways which is going to help me get to that goal yeahhh.

20150729_102102
I had these twists in for a month; took it down and had my hair in Marley hair updos, I will show you in a tutorial later

So the past 5 months as protective styling I have been doing “The Braid Challenge” which is having braids for 3 weeks then protective style (having your hair out but tucked away example buns) for two weeks to let your hair breathe then repeat with the “Braid Challenge) till you get bored.

I would like to show you guys how successful my braid challenge has been.

20150914_095759
This picture was taken 1 month into my braids I in total had them in for two and a half months; I reinstalled around the perimeter of my head twice during the time I had them in. (excuse the allergy face)

Yes 5cm in length I have retained ….length doing 3 sets of braids with a weeks break.

Lemme let you in on how I did it (My regime)

Installed my braids myself with Profectiv Mega Growth creme (seal from roots to end then install braids)

This has done my hair wonders when I take my hair out from braids minimal breakage  and so soft! the hair has been moisturized since my hair is half natural and relaxed the ingredient glycrine takes my new growth really well and helps with the two textures. You can get all of these products at your local Arab shop if you live in Australia other wise online. If you like for me to install any of these styles you can find me on Locs of style Perth Facebook.

(Right to left)profectiv, almond oil, Castor oil, shea butter, grape seed, glycerin
(Right to left)profectiv, almond oil, Castor oil, shea butter, grape seed, glycerin

Leave braids in for 3 weeks I only wash hair twice during that time; used allot of Jamaica Lime spray, I didn’t Co wash but I took the edges out at every shampoo and hot oiled and steamed my whole head (pre poo) with olive oil, grape seed oil, Castor oil and almond oil over night. The shampooed my hair condition and deep steam and reinstall my edges and keep it in for two weeks.

Then I shampoo my hair with organic olive oil shampoo (which is a Sulphate shampoo that helps remove all the buildup in the braids)

df99a69959b5e92cf0a4514b0320021b

Then I used trees some conditioner mixed with some glycerin let it sit for a min then rinse.

Then I either use olive oil replenishing deep conditioner for half an hour then rinse in laundry sink to save my self jumping in the shower again.

OR

I put the protective leave in and wrap hair in glad wrap for 10 mins and let it air dry to style.

When hair is dry add little bit of Castor oil around edges.

Remember to wrap your braids/hair at night with a satin or silk head tie or pillow case to retain moisture in your hair.

20150829_224903  😉

When you are installing your braids this is one of the most important aspects; MAKE BRAID PARTINGS BIGGER AND ADD LESS HAIR EXTENSION!!! Your hair will love you for it and you will have less headaches and you can put your braids up with one elastic..not 3 elastics just one, yay for protective styling lol.

Big partings is better for your hair.
Big partings is better for your hair.

Then I  repeat the same washing steps after a week or two until make braids have been at least 3 weeks or a month old.

20150919_200157
4 and a half months without relaxer (post)

Make sure you detangle your hair with a wide tooth comb and finger comb gently to get rid of any knots; only do this when hair is dry and you can do this again when your conditioning your hair if you desire.

pin up style with braiding hair (protective style) will show how to do it in another article.
Pin up style with braiding hair (protective style) will show how to do it in another article.

Let my hair breath for a week or two with different protective styles like Bantu knots, low buns and African wraps; Then repeat with the braids challenge until want to let my hair out again or retouch my relaxer.

SI_20150927_174448

(Bantu knot out protective style.)

A couple days before my relaxer I straighten my hair with an iron on low temperature so it could make the reader process more easier and faster to apply to my roots

20151007_142947
Hot ironed hair for manageability for relaxer application.

I apply profectiv mega growth or coconut oil to my relaxed part of my hair and on the ends to protect my hair from overlapping relaxer damage; I always advise to get a friend or professional stylist to relax your hair as its hard to see at the back of your hair and it will prevent relaxer being applied directly to the scalp which can cause burns.

I use lye relaxer motions, I relax bone straight because that's the only way I can manage my own hair at the moment.
I use lye relaxer motions, I relax bone straight because that’s the only way I can manage my own hair at the moment.

Please if your using relaxers I suggest using a lye relaxer as it makes the hair shiny and the quality is better than the box no lye relaxers which causes “calcium build up”, but I will get into that in my next article.

I’m one the way to bust length with this regime you watch me with progress pictures up soon!

With Protective styling and you only need to set one day in between two weeks or one weeks to do a wash and steam day; other from that you don’t have to style your hair everyday just put some braid spray in any style you want with the braids and you done with your hair for the day and what can I call that serious convenience which don’t we all love.

What do you do in your hair regime/journey and if your doing the braid challenge how is it working for you?

 

.

Leave a comment